9-1-1 Dispatch

Copley and Springfield Townships, in cooperation with the cities of Barberton, Norton, are part of a joint dispatch center, Southwest Summit Communications (SWSCOM), that handles all police, fire, and EMS calls for all four communities.

​The center is funded by payments from member communities using a cost-sharing formula which includes the number of calls, population, and tax base. Karen Gregorcic brings years of experience to her role as administrator of the dispatch center. The creation of SWSCOM was assisted by a zero-interest Local Government Innovation Fund Loan from the State of Ohio.

​The "next-generation" equipment at the center allows SWSCOM to provide life-saving 24/7 emergency dispatch service to the region at a reduced cost for each community. 
Joint Dispatch employees